Grand Rapids Domestic Violence Lawyers
Defend Against Domestic Assault Accusations
In Michigan, domestic violence allegations are taken very seriously. Unfortunately, you could be charged with, and possibly convicted of, an offense because of false accusations, misunderstandings, or mistakes. The penalties are high, and if you're found guilty, you could be sentenced to jail time and/or a fine. Additionally, the person who claims that you have harmed them can take certain legal actions that may place various restrictions on your life. The stakes are high in a domestic violence case and the legal system is very complex. You must follow specific rules and laws precisely to effectively fight back against the charges, so trying to handle it on your own could be costly.
If you were charged with a domestic violence offense, reach out to Tanis Schultz for high-quality legal representation. Our attorneys provide personalized attention every step of the way. We will take the time to listen to your side of the story and review the facts to build a sound legal strategy for your unique situation. We will fight relentlessly toward a favorable outcome on your behalf.
We are ready to protect your rights, freedom, and future. Call us today at 616-227-3737 todiscuss your case.
What Is Domestic Violence?
In Michigan, you could be accused of a domestic violence (or domestic assault) offense for causing harm to a person with whom you have an intimate relationship. The harm does not always have to be physical; it can be emotional, sexual, or economic.
An intimate or domestic relationship is one involving:
- Spouses or former spouses
- Current or former dating partners
- People with a child or children in common
- Current or former household members
Personal Protective and No-Contact Orders
Depending on your situation, you may be subject to a Personal Protective Order (PPO) or no-contact order. The PPO is typically sought by an alleged victim of domestic violence. This type of order is issued by the court and bars you from engaging in certain conduct, such as going to the alleged victim's home or work or possessing a firearm. If the individual believes you pose an immediate danger to their safety, the judge can issue an emergency ex parte PPO. This means you would be subject to the order without first having been able to attend a hearing to defend yourself against the accusations.
A no-contact order may be a part of the PPO or a court can issue it as a condition of jail release pending your domestic violence case. A no-contact order prohibits you from contacting the alleged victim in any way.
If you violate either a PPO or no-contact order, you could be subject to additional penalties. It’s vital to seek legal help in these types of cases. Our Grand Rapids domestic violence lawyers can help challenge the claims made against you.
What Happens If I’m Convicted of Domestic Violence in Michigan?
As mentioned before, the State takes domestic assault charges seriously. It will harshly pursue someone alleged to have committed an offense and work hard to prove that the individual is guilty.
Under Michigan law, if you're convicted of domestic violence, you could be looking at the following penalties:
- Up to 93 days in jail, and/or
- Up to $500 in fines
- Up to 1 year in jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines
Third or Subsequent Offense (felony):
- Up to 5 years in prison, and/or
- Up to $5,000 in fines
Alternatives to Jail Time
If you are charged with a first-time domestic violence offense, you may be able to enter a deferral program to avoid incarceration. Under MCL 769.4a (also referred to as the Spousal Abuse Act), if you plead guilty to the offense, a judge may place you on probation.
As part of probation, you may be subject to specific terms, such as:
- Attending counseling
- Completing an anger management class
- Being subject to drug or alcohol testing
If you successfully complete probation, your guilty plea will not be entered on your criminal record, and you will not have to serve time in jail.
We're Here to Help
Have you been accused of domestic violence in Grand Rapids? Or have you been served with a PPO or subject to a no-contact order? At Tanis Schultz, we are ready to provide the legal representation you need. Our lawyers will analyze every detail of your case, spot holes in the allegations, and fight hard on your behalf.
To get started on building an effective defense, call us at 616-227-3737 or contact us online.
“Megan was my counsel for license re-instatement and I could not be happier with the experience and the results.”- D.
“Early this year my driving privileges we’re fully restored and I could not have done it without Megan.”- A.C.
“I cannot say enough how impressed I am with Ms. Mast and the end result of our case.”- G.C.
Stolen Property – Receiving and Concealing Dismissed
Criminal Sexual Conduct 1st Degree Not Guilty
Operating While Intoxicated Dismissed
Operating While Intoxicated III Charges Reduced
Felony Firearm, Carrying A Concealed Weapon Charges Reduced
Tampering/Circumvention with an Interlock Device Restored Driving Privileges
Domestic Violence 1st Offense Dismissed
Retail Fraud Dismissed
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Hit & Run Charges Reduced
When you hire one of the experienced attorneys at Tanis Schultz, you get an entire team!
Track Record of Success
Our attorneys have experience handling high-profile, complex cases with complete success.
Tanis Schultz is a professional law firm that provides a competitive advantage and the experience to address your legal issues.
Our attorneys have over 45 years of combined experience handling various areas of the law with precision.